360° Institutional Intelligence Report
BARCLAYS ALDERSGATE INVESTMENTS LIMITED
Reg. 02223073 · GB · active · 18 August 2026
Overview
Coverage statement
Coverage status: PARTIAL. Sources that ran and returned data: Companies House (UK), Google Programmable Search. Sources that ran and genuinely found nothing: Sanctions Lists (OFAC · UK OFSI · UN). These are meaningful clean results. Sources skipped or not applicable: No PEP screening provider configured. Risk domains NOT reflected in the composite score: PEP. Partial assessment. The following screens did not run and are NOT reflected in the score: PEP.
Why this rating
Derived from the stored score, not written by a model
▼
Why this rating
Derived from the stored score, not written by a model
6 out of 100 — low risk, little to act on — the checks that ran found nothing of substance.
This scale runs from 0 to 100 and HIGHER MEANS MORE RISK. 0 would be a counterparty with nothing adverse found by any screen that ran; 100 is the worst case. It is not a quality or credit score, where a high number would be good.
What is holding it down
Sanctions & Watchlists, Adverse Media, Regulatory & Enforcement, Litigation, Transparency Risk scored low — these screens ran and found nothing of substance, which is a real result rather than an absence of searching.
What was not checked
1 screen(s) did not run: Politically Exposed Persons. Their weight was redistributed across the domains that did run, so the score reflects only what was actually checked — it is not evidence that those areas are clear.
What would change this rating
- Connecting a provider for Politically Exposed Persons would let that screen run, which could move the score in either direction — that area is currently unmeasured, not clear.
- No single domain dominates this score; it reflects the accumulation of low-level findings rather than one decisive issue.
The arithmetic
35 × 6.8% + 3 × 34.1% + 4 × 22.7% + 4 × 20.4% + 4 × 11.4% + 8 × 4.5% = 6/100
Executive summary
Entity Overview
The subject resolved at the UK registry is BARCLAYS ALDERSGATE INVESTMENTS LIMITED, company number 02223073, a private limited company (ltd) incorporated 19 February 1988, status active, registered at 1 Churchill Place, London, E14 5HP [Source: Companies House]. The registry record supplied does not include SIC codes, accounts, filing history or a statement of business activity, so the company's actual operations are NOT FOUND in this evidence set. Barclays Bank Plc is recorded as a Person with Significant Control, but that entry is DECLARED (self-filed) and has not been independently verified.
Risk Assessment
Composite score 6/100 — LOW, coverage PARTIAL, confidence LOW. The low score is arithmetically reproducible (see Section 11) but rests on a screening exercise that was run against the bare string "Barclays" rather than against the registered legal name, the registration number 02223073, or the three named directors. The score therefore measures a name, not the entity. PEP screening did not run at all.
Critical Finding
Entity-resolution failure in the adverse-signal set. Every adverse item retrieved names a different legal person from the registry subject: Barclays Bank Plc (OFAC settlement 08 Feb 2016; FSA Final Notice £59.5m, 27 Jun 2012), Barclays Capital, Inc. (DOJ US$2bn RMBS civil penalty, 29 Mar 2018), Barclays PLC (securities litigation, US$19.5m settlement), and "Barclays US" consumer cards. No retrieved item names company 02223073. Two consequences follow, both material: (i) attributing this conduct to 02223073 would be factually wrong and legally actionable; (ii) no search has been performed that would surface adverse information about 02223073 or its directors, so the apparent cleanliness of the subject is untested, not clean. A qualifying nuance the pre-synthesis brief understated: Barclays Bank Plc is the declared PSC of the subject, so the OFAC and LIBOR matters attach to the subject's declared controller and are relevant to control-structure and reputational assessment — but only if the PSC declaration is independently verified.
CDD Recommendation
Do not treat the model's "Standard CDD / EDD: NO" output as an onboarding decision. Recommended: Manual compliance review with targeted re-screening before any risk-based classification is finalised. If the PSC declaration is verified and the subject is confirmed as a controlled subsidiary of a UK-authorised bank, a risk-based simplified/standard approach may be defensible; that condition is not yet evidenced.
Immediate Action
Re-run all open-source and enforcement screens against the exact registered name "BARCLAYS ALDERSGATE INVESTMENTS LIMITED" and registration number 02223073, screen the three named directors and BARCOSEC LIMITED individually, and connect a PEP screening provider. Until then the composite score must not be relied upon.
ENTITY IDENTITY & REGISTRATION
1ENTITY IDENTITY & REGISTRATION
Assessment
The subject is positively identified in the UK statutory registry. Identity data is VERIFIED against Companies House. However, the registry extract supplied is limited to core identifiers: it contains no SIC/activity code, no accounts or confirmation-statement history, no previous names and no filing-status indicators. The company's actual business activity is therefore NOT FOUND in this evidence set.
Evidence
| Item | Finding | Source | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Registered legal name | BARCLAYS ALDERSGATE INVESTMENTS LIMITED | Companies House | VERIFIED |
| Registration number | 02223073 | Companies House | VERIFIED |
| Jurisdiction of incorporation | United Kingdom (GB) | Companies House | VERIFIED |
| Company type | Private limited company (ltd) | Companies House | VERIFIED |
| Incorporation date | 19 February 1988 | Companies House | VERIFIED |
| Registered address | 1 Churchill Place, London, E14 5HP | Companies House | VERIFIED |
| Current status | Active | Companies House | VERIFIED |
| SIC / business activity | Not present in extract | — | NOT FOUND |
| Accounts / filing history | Not present in extract | — | NOT FOUND |
| Previous names / trading names | Not present in extract | — | NOT FOUND |
| FCA Register authorisation status | Not queried | — | NOT RUN |
Key Findings
- Jurisdiction confidence is user-provided. The GB jurisdiction assertion is corroborated by the Companies House record, so in this instance the user input and the registry agree.
- The registered address, 1 Churchill Place, London E14 5HP, is consistent with the declared PSC being a Barclays group entity. A shared address is corroborative context only; it does not verify ownership and must not be treated as doing so (see Section 2).
- The name string "Barclays" is the root cause of the screening failure described in Sections 5–7. A common, heavily reported bank brand generates overwhelming string-match noise. The registered name "Barclays Aldersgate Investments" and the number 02223073 appear nowhere in the retrieved open-source set.
- FCA Register was not queried. Whether 02223073 holds any authorisation, is an appointed representative, or is an unregulated group holding vehicle is unknown. This materially affects the appropriate CDD tier (Section 12).
Risk Implication
Identity is established to registry standard, satisfying the identification limb of UK MLR 2017 reg. 28(3) for a body corporate. The unestablished business purpose does not satisfy reg. 28(4) (purpose and intended nature of the relationship). Without SIC data, accounts or FCA status, the file cannot demonstrate that the customer's stated activity matches the observed profile — a standard finding in FCA CDD file reviews.
BENEFICIAL OWNERSHIP & CONTROL STRUCTURE
2BENEFICIAL OWNERSHIP & CONTROL STRUCTURE
Assessment
Control is partially mapped. Officers are CONFIRMED from the Companies House officers register. Ownership is DECLARED only — a single corporate PSC with no percentage, no control category and no onward chain. The ownership analysis does not terminate in identified natural persons.
Evidence
| Name | Role | Source | Verification status |
|---|---|---|---|
| BARCOSEC LIMITED | Corporate secretary | Companies House officers register | CONFIRMED (as an officer entry) |
| FERRY, Ben | Director | Companies House officers register | CONFIRMED |
| PARACHA, Mahmud Zia | Director | Companies House officers register | CONFIRMED |
| SHERWOOD, Edward James | Director | Companies House officers register | CONFIRMED |
| Barclays Bank Plc | Person with Significant Control | Companies House PSC register (self-declared filing) | DECLARED — not independently verified |
Data Not Retrieved
- Ownership percentage / nature of control for Barclays Bank Plc: NOT FOUND. The PSC entry carries no shareholding band or control category.
- Company number for BARCOSEC LIMITED: NOT FOUND. Without it, the secretary cannot be uniquely identified or screened.
- Dates of birth, nationalities, residential jurisdictions and appointment dates for the three directors: NOT FOUND. These are required to screen the individuals reliably.
- Onward ownership chain above Barclays Bank Plc: NOT FOUND. No parent, no listed-entity exemption evidence, no ultimate natural persons.
The 25% Threshold
Under the UK PSC regime (Companies Act 2006 Part 21A) and FATF Recommendation 24, a person with significant control is one who directly or indirectly holds more than 25% of shares or voting rights, holds the right to appoint or remove a majority of the board, or otherwise exercises significant influence or control. The supplied record identifies a corporate PSC but does not state which of these limbs applies or at what level. A corporate PSC discharges the beneficial-ownership obligation only where the chain terminates in a relevant legal entity subject to its own disclosure regime (e.g. a listed company) — a condition that is asserted nowhere in this evidence set and must be verified, not assumed.
Cross-Section Link
This section materially affects Sections 3, 5 and 6. Because Barclays Bank Plc is the declared controller, the OFAC settlement of 08 February 2016 and the FSA Final Notice of 27 June 2012 (£59.5m) attach to the subject's declared controller. That is a legitimate control-structure consideration — but only once the PSC declaration is verified, and it remains a finding against Barclays Bank Plc, not against 02223073. The pre-synthesis brief treated all adverse items as belonging to unrelated third parties; that is correct as to legal personality but understates the relevance of group-level enforcement to a declared parent.
Risk Implication
Opacity here is moderate rather than severe: the structure appears to be a UK-domiciled subsidiary of a UK bank, which is a low-complexity pattern. The deficiency is evidentiary — the file currently relies on a self-declared filing. Under UK MLR 2017 reg. 28(4)(b) and reg. 28(9), the firm must take reasonable measures to verify beneficial ownership such that it is satisfied it knows who the beneficial owner is; accepting an unverified PSC filing at face value does not meet that standard.
SANCTIONS & WATCHLIST SCREENING
3SANCTIONS & WATCHLIST SCREENING
Assessment
Screen status: RAN — returned genuinely empty (`OK_EMPTY`). This is a real clean result for the lists queried and is the strongest positive signal in the file. Its scope, however, is not fully documented.
Evidence
| Item | Detail | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Lists screened | OFAC · UK OFSI · UN | VERIFIED (per source ledger) |
| Screening outcome | No findings returned | NOT FOUND (genuine empty result) |
| Date of screening | Report date, 18 August 2026 | VERIFIED |
| Match confidence | Not applicable — no candidate matches, exact or partial, were returned | — |
| Entry date / designation reason | Not applicable — no designations returned | — |
Scope Limitations — material
- The evidence does not state whether the sanctions screen covered the three named directors, BARCOSEC LIMITED, or the declared PSC Barclays Bank Plc, or only the subject company. Officer-level sanctions screening is a distinct requirement and cannot be assumed to have occurred.
- EU consolidated list, and other national regimes are not itemised in the ledger. Only OFAC, OFSI and UN are named.
- No adverse-control / 50%-rule analysis was performed. Under OFAC's 50 Percent Rule and OFSI's ownership-and-control guidance, an entity can be restricted by virtue of its ownership without being separately listed. Because the ownership chain is unresolved (Section 2), this analysis cannot be completed on current evidence.
Important Distinction
The OFAC item retrieved by the regulatory search — the settlement agreement dated 08 February 2016 with Barclays Bank Plc (https://ofac.treasury.gov/recent-actions/20160208) — is an enforcement action, not a designation. It does not place any entity on a sanctions list. It is discussed in Section 6. Conflating an OFAC enforcement settlement with a sanctions designation would be a material error.
Risk Implication
No designation risk is evidenced. However, the clean result covers the corporate name only insofar as scope is documented, and does not extend to ownership-and-control derived restrictions. Under UK MLR 2017 and the Sanctions and Anti-Money Laundering Act 2018, screening must address both the counterparty and those who own or control it.
POLITICALLY EXPOSED PERSONS (PEP) ASSESSMENT
4POLITICALLY EXPOSED PERSONS (PEP) ASSESSMENT
Assessment
Screen status: NOT RUN
No PEP screening provider is configured. No PEP, RCA (relative or close associate) or HIO (head of international organisation) determination has been made for any person or entity connected to this subject.
What this means
- The following natural persons are entirely unscreened for PEP status: FERRY, Ben; PARACHA, Mahmud Zia; SHERWOOD, Edward James (all directors, CONFIRMED from the Companies House officers register).
- No political position, jurisdiction of exposure, or time period of any office has been identified — because no search capable of identifying one was executed.
- It would be a reporting error to record "no PEP identified" or "not a PEP" for this file. Nothing was checked. Absence of a screen is not a negative result.
Evidence
| Item | Finding | Source | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| PEP screening provider | None configured | Source ledger | SKIPPED |
| Director PEP status (×3) | Not determined | — | NOT RUN |
| Corporate secretary / PSC RCA analysis | Not determined | — | NOT RUN |
| PEP factor in composite score | Excluded; weight redistributed to other factors | Risk score block | DISCLOSED GAP |
Regulatory Position
Under FATF Recommendation 12 and FCA SYSC 12.1, together with UK MLR 2017 regs. 33(1)(b) and 35, a firm must have systems to determine whether a customer, a beneficial owner or (where relevant) a controller is a PEP, family member or known close associate, and must apply enhanced measures where one is. A file with no PEP screen cannot demonstrate compliance with reg. 35 and would be expected to fail an FCA or MLRO file review on that basis alone.
Risk Implication
This is a coverage gap, not an adverse finding. Its practical effect is that the composite score in Section 11 has had the PEP weight redistributed across the six domains that did run — mathematically valid, analytically incomplete. The score therefore cannot be presented as a full-coverage assessment.
Required Next Step
Connect a PEP data provider and screen all three directors (with date of birth and nationality obtained from the full Companies House officer record), plus the officers of BARCOSEC LIMITED once its company number is established.
ADVERSE MEDIA & REPUTATIONAL INTELLIGENCE
5ADVERSE MEDIA & REPUTATIONAL INTELLIGENCE
Assessment
Ten results were returned by Google Programmable Search: 3 adverse, 0 positive, 7 neutral (severity: 0 critical, 2 high, 0 medium, 1 low). None of the three adverse items concerns the registry subject. The adverse-media domain, as executed, is a search of the brand string "Barclays", not of BARCLAYS ALDERSGATE INVESTMENTS LIMITED.
Evidence
| Item | Date | Named entity | Allegation type | Outcome per source | Relevance to 02223073 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lost or Stolen card/Fraud FAQ, Barclays US (https://cards.barclaycardus.com/banking/help-center/faqs/lost-stolen-card-fraud/) | UNDATED | "Barclays US" consumer cards | None — this is a customer help page, not an allegation | Not applicable | None evidenced |
| SEC press release 2016-16, "Barclays, Credit Suisse Charged With Dark Pool Violations" (https://www.sec.gov/newsroom/press-releases/2016-16) | 20 Feb 2016 per snippet; item flagged UNDATED | "Barclays" (specific legal entity not identified in snippet) | Securities-law violations, dark pool operation | Charged. The snippet records a charge; it does not evidence adjudication or settlement | None evidenced |
| DOJ, "Barclays Agrees to Pay $2 Billion in Civil Penalties" (https://www.justice.gov/archives/opa/pr/barclays-agrees-pay-2-billion-civil-penalties-resolve-claims-fraud-sale-residential-mortgage) | 29 Mar 2018 | Barclays Capital, Inc. | Fraud in the sale of residential mortgage-backed securities (FIRREA civil claim) | Resolved by agreement to pay US$2bn in civil penalties, per DOJ | None evidenced |
Data-Quality Red Flag
The severity classification is inverted and unreliable:
- A consumer credit-card lost/stolen FAQ page — containing no allegation against anyone — was graded HIGH.
- A US$2bn DOJ civil penalty resolution was graded LOW.
This is characteristic of keyword-triggered classification ("fraud" appearing in a help-page title). The consequence is that the Adverse Media factor score of 4/100 is not a calibrated measure of anything, and neither its low value nor a hypothetically higher value could be defended to a reviewer. This is flagged again in Section 11.
Coverage Statement
- Source searched: Google Programmable Search only.
- Query basis: apparently the string "Barclays"; the registered name and number 02223073 appear in no returned item.
- Time span covered: the dated items span 2016–2018; two of three adverse items carry no date at all. No defined lookback period was applied or evidenced.
- Not searched: subscription adverse-media databases, UK national press archives, insolvency notices, the London Gazette, or any query targeting the three directors by name.
Risk Implication
The reputational position of 02223073 is UNDETERMINED, not clean. Reporting "3 adverse media items" against this customer without qualification would misattribute the conduct of Barclays Capital, Inc. and other group entities to a company that no source connects to it — a mischaracterisation the named individuals and entities would have standing to challenge. Conversely, recording "no adverse media" would be equally wrong, because no properly targeted search has run.
REGULATORY & ENFORCEMENT HISTORY
6REGULATORY & ENFORCEMENT HISTORY
Assessment
Three adverse regulatory items were returned, all graded HIGH. None names the registry subject. Two concern Barclays Bank Plc — the subject's declared PSC — and are therefore relevant to control-structure assessment (Section 2) but constitute no finding against 02223073. The third is an NGO complaint, not a regulatory action.
Evidence
| Regulator / body | Date | Named party | Matter type | Determinative status | Penalty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| US Treasury / OFAC (https://ofac.treasury.gov/recent-actions/20160208) | 08 Feb 2016 | Barclays Bank Plc | Settlement agreement; sanctions programme not identified in the retrieved snippet | Settled enforcement action. The snippet does not state the sanctions programme, the penalty amount, or whether liability was admitted | NOT RETRIEVED |
| DOJ (with FSA reference) (https://www.justice.gov/archives/opa/pr/barclays-bank-plc-admits-misconduct-related-submissions-london-interbank-offered-rate-and) | 27 Jun 2012 | Barclays Bank PLC | LIBOR / EURIBOR benchmark submissions | Determined. DOJ states Barclays Bank PLC admits misconduct; the FSA issued a Final Notice | £59.5 million (FSA penalty, per DOJ release). The DOJ-side financial component is not stated in the snippet |
| Mighty Earth (NGO) (https://mightyearth.org/article/barclays-billions-bankrolling-climate-super-polluter/) | 28 Oct 2025 | "Barclays" (group financing activity) | Complaint filed with a UK financial regulator concerning financing of JBS | Allegation / complaint only. No evidence that any regulator opened an investigation, still less made a finding | Not applicable |
Analytical Notes
- 1.The 2012 LIBOR matter is the only item in the entire evidence set with a fully determined outcome and a stated penalty amount. It concerns Barclays Bank PLC. Its age (over 14 years at the report date) and the intervening regulatory remediation are relevant to weight, but no remediation evidence was retrieved either way.
- 2.The OFAC 2016 item is materially incomplete. Without the sanctions programme, the penalty and the admission position, it cannot be assessed for severity. Retrieving the full OFAC enforcement notice is a specific, achievable next step.
- 3.The Mighty Earth item must not be recorded as a regulatory action. It is a third-party complaint. The distinction between complaint, investigation, charge and finding is decisive here.
- 4.No UK-specific regulatory register was queried — no FCA Register check, no FCA Final Notices search against the subject's registered name, no Companies House enforcement/compliance history. The subject's own UK regulatory record is therefore NOT SEARCHED, not clean.
Cross-Section Link
The OFAC and LIBOR items attach to the entity recorded as PSC in Section 2. Because that PSC entry is DECLARED and unverified, even the group-affiliation inference rests on an unverified filing. The pre-synthesis brief's conclusion that these items concern "a different legal person" is correct as a matter of legal personality; its framing as wholly irrelevant is too strong, because a declared parent's enforcement history is a legitimate input to a group-risk view once affiliation is verified.
Risk Implication
The subject's own regulatory record is unassessed. The declared parent has a concluded UK regulatory finding (FSA Final Notice, £59.5m) and a concluded US enforcement settlement. Neither transfers to the subject as a legal matter, but both are relevant to (i) group reputational risk and (ii) the question of whether the relationship sits within a well-controlled regulated group — which, if verified, would ordinarily reduce rather than increase AML risk.
LITIGATION & LEGAL PROCEEDINGS
7LITIGATION & LEGAL PROCEEDINGS
Assessment
Two adverse litigation items were returned (1 medium, 1 low). Neither names the registry subject. No court record was searched directly — the litigation domain was executed via Google Programmable Search only.
Evidence
| Matter | Jurisdiction / forum | Parties named in source | Case type | Status / outcome | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| In re Barclays PLC Securities Litigation | United States; specific court NOT RETRIEVED | Barclays PLC and certain of its executives; plaintiff class | Securities class action | Resolved. A US$19.5 million settlement was reached resolving claims on behalf of the class, per the law-firm case page | https://www.labaton.com/cases/in-re-barclays-plc-securities-litigation (page reference dated 18 Mar 2025) |
| United States v. Barclays Capital, Inc. | United States; announced by the US Attorney for the Eastern District of New York (Richard P. Donoghue named in the release) | Barclays Capital, Inc.; United States | Civil fraud claim re sale of residential mortgage-backed securities | Resolved by agreement to pay US$2 billion in civil penalties, per DOJ | https://www.justice.gov/archives/opa/pr/barclays-agrees-pay-2-billion-civil-penalties-resolve-claims-fraud-sale-residential-mortgage |
Not Retrieved
- Case numbers for either matter: NOT FOUND. Do not record any.
- Court name for the securities class action: NOT FOUND. The source is a claimant law firm's case page, not a court docket.
- Any litigation naming BARCLAYS ALDERSGATE INVESTMENTS LIMITED or company 02223073: NOT FOUND.
- UK court records (BAILII, Royal Courts of Justice listings, County Court judgments register, insolvency and winding-up petitions in the London Gazette): NOT SEARCHED.
Pattern Analysis
- The DOJ RMBS matter appears in both the litigation and adverse-media result sets. It is one event counted in two domains. This inflates the apparent number of distinct adverse events and is a scoring artefact worth noting when reading Section 11.
- Both items are resolved US civil matters against US or group-parent entities. There is no evidence of repeat litigation, class actions or insolvency proceedings against the subject — but equally no search capable of finding any was run against the subject.
Risk Implication
The subject's litigation exposure is UNDETERMINED. Because no UK court or insolvency register was queried, the file cannot evidence the absence of judgments, winding-up petitions or charges against 02223073. For a UK corporate customer this is a routine and easily closed gap; leaving it open is not defensible in a completed CDD file.
FINANCIAL PROFILE & SOURCE OF WEALTH
8FINANCIAL PROFILE & SOURCE OF WEALTH
Assessment
No financial data was obtained for the subject. The financial search returned 10 results, all classified neutral, and no revenue, turnover, asset, funding, investor or profitability figure was extracted into the evidence set.
Evidence
| Data point | Finding | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Revenue / turnover | Not retrieved | NOT FOUND |
| Total assets | Not retrieved | NOT FOUND |
| Profitability | Not retrieved | NOT FOUND |
| Filed statutory accounts | Not present in registry extract | NOT FOUND |
| Accounts filing status (dormant / small / full) | Not present in registry extract | NOT FOUND |
| Funding rounds / investors | Not applicable / not retrieved | NOT FOUND |
| Source of funds & source of wealth | Not established | NOT FOUND |
| Adverse financial signals (charges, judgments, distress) | None returned; none searched for directly | NOT SEARCHED |
Analysis
- The registered name contains "Investments", which suggests an investment or holding function. This is an inference from the name only and is not evidence of activity. No SIC code, accounts or business description was retrieved to support it, and it must not be recorded as a verified business purpose.
- No red flags of the type this section exists to detect — negative net worth, rapid unexplained growth, opaque or circular funding — were identified. That is because no financial data was available to test for them, not because testing was performed and passed.
- The subject was incorporated in 1988 and remains active [Source: Companies House]. Longevity is mildly reassuring as to substance but says nothing about current financial condition.
Risk Implication
This is a due-diligence deficiency, explicitly flagged. UK MLR 2017 reg. 28(4)(a) requires the firm to assess and, where appropriate, obtain information on the purpose and intended nature of the business relationship; reg. 28(11) requires ongoing scrutiny to ensure transactions are consistent with the firm's knowledge of the customer and its business and risk profile. Neither can be evidenced without a baseline financial picture.
Required Next Step
Retrieve the full Companies House filing history for 02223073 — accounts, confirmation statements, and the register of charges (mortgages). Filed accounts will also confirm or refute the holding-company inference and disclose the immediate and ultimate parent undertakings, which would directly corroborate or contradict the DECLARED PSC entry in Section 2.
GEOGRAPHIC & JURISDICTIONAL RISK
9GEOGRAPHIC & JURISDICTIONAL RISK
Assessment
The subject is incorporated and registered in the United Kingdom (GB) — a jurisdiction generally treated as low-risk in AML frameworks. The model assigned a Jurisdiction Risk score of 35/100, which is the single largest contributor to the composite (2.38 of 5.94 points, ~40%). No reference dataset supporting that figure appears in the source ledger.
Evidence
| Item | Finding | Source | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Country of incorporation | United Kingdom (GB) | Companies House | VERIFIED |
| Registered address | 1 Churchill Place, London, E14 5HP | Companies House | VERIFIED |
| Operating jurisdictions | Not established | — | NOT FOUND |
| FATF grey/black list status of GB | Not queried in this assessment | — | NOT RUN |
| EU High-Risk Third Countries list check | Not queried | — | NOT RUN |
| Transparency International CPI score for GB | Not retrieved; no publication year available | — | NOT FOUND |
| Offshore presence / non-UK subsidiaries or branches | Not established | — | NOT FOUND |
| Jurisdiction Risk factor score | 35/100, applied weight 6.8% | Risk score block | UNSOURCED IN LEDGER |
Analytical Notes
- 1.No FATF, EU high-risk-third-country or Transparency International dataset was queried by any source in the ledger. The 35/100 jurisdiction score is therefore a model default of unstated provenance. It should not be cited to a regulator as a FATF- or CPI-derived figure, because no such dataset was consulted here.
- 2.Operating footprint is unknown. Only the jurisdiction of incorporation is established. Whether 02223073 holds assets, subsidiaries or counterparties in higher-risk jurisdictions is entirely unassessed. This is the more material geographic gap: incorporation jurisdiction is the least informative geographic variable for an investment-holding vehicle.
- 3.Group-level geographic exposure is evidenced only indirectly, through US enforcement actions against affiliated entities (Sections 6 and 7) which imply US operations at group level. That exposure is not attributable to the subject on current evidence.
Risk Implication
The jurisdiction of incorporation presents no elevated AML risk on any recognised framework. The residual geographic concern is the unmapped operating footprint, which cannot be addressed by a registry lookup and requires customer-supplied information on activities, counterparties and asset locations. Under a risk-based approach this should be captured at onboarding and revisited on any change of activity.
ESG & CONDUCT RISK
10ESG & CONDUCT RISK
Assessment
No dedicated ESG data source was consulted. No ESG rating provider, modern-slavery-statement register, environmental regulator database, employment tribunal record or data-breach registry appears in the source ledger. The only ESG-adjacent signal in the evidence set is a single NGO campaign item concerning group-level financing — an allegation, not a determination, and not connected to the subject.
Evidence
| Domain | Finding | Source | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Environmental | NGO complaint filed with a UK financial regulator concerning Barclays' financing of JBS; Mighty Earth "is calling for a financial probe" | https://mightyearth.org/article/barclays-billions-bankrolling-climate-super-polluter/ (28 Oct 2025) | UNVERIFIED ALLEGATION — third-party campaign material |
| Governance | Concluded conduct findings against Barclays Bank PLC (LIBOR, FSA Final Notice £59.5m, 27 Jun 2012) and a settled OFAC enforcement action (08 Feb 2016) — both against the declared PSC, not the subject | DOJ / OFAC (see Section 6) | VERIFIED as to the named entities; NOT ATTRIBUTABLE to 02223073 |
| Governance (securities) | US$19.5m securities class-action settlement involving Barclays PLC and certain executives | https://www.labaton.com/cases/in-re-barclays-plc-securities-litigation | UNVERIFIED (law-firm case page, not a court record) |
| Labour / human rights | Nothing retrieved | — | NOT SEARCHED |
| Modern Slavery Act statement | Not checked for 02223073 or its group | — | NOT SEARCHED |
| Whistleblower reports | Nothing retrieved | — | NOT SEARCHED |
| Supply chain | Not applicable / not assessed | — | NOT SEARCHED |
| Data breaches | Nothing retrieved | — | NOT SEARCHED |
Analytical Notes
- The Mighty Earth item is campaign advocacy. It records that an NGO filed a case with a UK financial regulator and is calling for a probe. It does not evidence that any regulator accepted the complaint, opened an investigation, or reached any conclusion. It must be logged as an allegation attributable to Mighty Earth.
- Under the UK Modern Slavery Act 2015 s.54, entities meeting the turnover threshold must publish an annual slavery and human trafficking statement. Whether 02223073 meets the threshold is unknown because no financial data was retrieved (Section 8).
- CSRD / TCFD applicability cannot be assessed without knowing the subject's size, activity and group reporting perimeter.
Risk Implication
ESG and conduct risk for the subject is UNDETERMINED. The group-level conduct history is real and documented but belongs to other legal persons. The practical compliance point is narrower than the ESG framing suggests: the concluded LIBOR finding and OFAC settlement against the declared PSC are governance-history data points relevant to a group-risk view, and should be recorded as such — attributed correctly — rather than either ignored or transferred to the subject.
COMPOSITE RISK ASSESSMENT
11COMPOSITE RISK ASSESSMENT
Scoring Table
All scores and applied (renormalised) weights are taken verbatim from the supplied RISK SCORE block.
| Risk Factor | Score | Weight | Weighted Score | Rationale |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sanctions & Watchlists | 3 | 34.1% | 1.023 | Screen ran against OFAC · OFSI · UN and returned genuinely empty. Scope as to directors and the declared PSC is not documented; no ownership-and-control (50%-rule) analysis performed (Section 3). |
| Adverse Media | 4 | 22.7% | 0.908 | 3 adverse of 10 results, none naming the subject. Severity classification demonstrably inverted (consumer FAQ page graded HIGH; US$2bn DOJ penalty graded LOW), so this input is uncalibrated (Section 5). |
| Regulatory & Enforcement | 4 | 20.4% | 0.816 | 3 adverse items, all naming other legal persons. Two attach to the DECLARED PSC, Barclays Bank Plc. No FCA Register or UK enforcement search targeted the subject (Section 6). |
| Politically Exposed Persons | UNDETERMINED | — | — | Screen did not run. No PEP provider configured; weight redistributed across the six domains that ran. Three directors entirely unscreened (Section 4). |
| Litigation | 4 | 11.4% | 0.456 | 2 adverse items, both resolved US civil matters against other legal persons. No court record, insolvency register or CCJ search executed (Section 7). |
| Jurisdiction Risk | 35 | 6.8% | 2.380 | GB incorporation. No FATF, EU high-risk-third-country or TI CPI dataset was consulted; the 35 figure has no cited source in the ledger. Largest single contributor to the composite (Section 9). |
| Transparency Risk | 8 | 4.5% | 0.360 | Registry data complete on identity and officers; PSC entry is DECLARED only, ownership chain unresolved, no financials retrieved (Sections 2 and 8). An 8/100 appears optimistic against those gaps. |
| Composite | 100% | 5.943 ≈ 6 |
Calculation
Composite Score = Σ(Factor Score × Applied Weight)
- Sanctions & Watchlists: 3 × 0.341 = 1.023
- Adverse Media: 4 × 0.227 = 0.908
- Regulatory & Enforcement: 4 × 0.204 = 0.816
- Litigation: 4 × 0.114 = 0.456
- Jurisdiction Risk: 35 × 0.068 = 2.380
- Transparency Risk: 8 × 0.045 = 0.360
- Politically Exposed Persons: not scored — screen did not run; contributes 0 and carries no weight
Total = 1.023 + 0.908 + 0.816 + 0.456 + 2.380 + 0.360 = 5.943
Composite = 6/100 — band: LOW. Coverage: PARTIAL.
What Actually Drives the Score
- 1.Jurisdiction Risk (35) supplies ~40% of the total despite carrying only a 6.8% weight, and is the only factor scored above single digits. It is also the factor with no cited underlying dataset. If that figure is a default rather than a measurement, roughly two-fifths of the composite is unsourced.
- 2.The four screening-derived factors all sit at 3–4/100, which is the arithmetic signature of "no confirmed match against the subject". Given that no search targeted the subject's registered name or number, these values reflect a failure to look as much as a failure to find.
- 3.The PEP weight was redistributed, mechanically raising the influence of the domains that did run. This is a valid renormalisation but means the 6/100 is a partial-coverage figure and must always be presented with that qualifier.
Why the Score Must Not Be Relied On As-Is
- Entity resolution failed on the adverse side (see Key Findings and Sections 5–7). The score reflects screening of a brand string.
- One domain (PEP) did not run at all.
- The severity classifier is provably miscalibrated on this data set.
The composite is arithmetically correct and fully reproducible. It is not, on current evidence, a validated measure of this customer's risk. Confidence is assessed LOW.
CUSTOMER DUE DILIGENCE RECOMMENDATION
12CUSTOMER DUE DILIGENCE RECOMMENDATION
Recommendation
Manual compliance review before any CDD tier is finalised. The model output of Standard CDD / EDD: NO / annual monitoring is retained as a provisional baseline but is not adopted as the decision, because the screening on which it rests did not target the subject entity and one required screen (PEP) did not run.
Interim position: relationship may proceed to review stage; it should not be recorded as CDD-complete, and no reliance may be placed on the "no adverse findings" characterisation.
Rationale
| Driver | Effect on recommendation |
|---|---|
| Sanctions screen ran and returned genuinely empty (OFAC · OFSI · UN) | Supports a lower tier; the only fully clean signal in the file |
| PEP screen NOT RUN — three directors unscreened | Blocks finalisation; MLR 2017 reg. 35 cannot be evidenced |
| All adverse hits name other legal persons; no search targeted 02223073 | Blocks finalisation; adverse position is untested |
| PSC is DECLARED, not verified; ownership chain unresolved | Blocks finalisation; MLR 2017 reg. 28(4)(b) not satisfied |
| No financial data, no SIC code, no accounts | Blocks finalisation; MLR 2017 reg. 28(4)(a) not satisfied |
| GB incorporation, active since 1988, apparent UK-bank-group subsidiary | Supports a lower tier once verified |
If the PSC declaration is independently verified and the subject is confirmed as a controlled subsidiary of a UK-authorised credit institution with no adverse findings on targeted search, Standard CDD with annual review is likely to be the proportionate outcome. That is a forecast, not the current position.
Outstanding Information Gaps
- 1.PEP status of FERRY, Ben; PARACHA, Mahmud Zia; SHERWOOD, Edward James — not determined.
- 2.Adverse media, regulatory and litigation position of company 02223073 itself — not searched.
- 3.Verification of the Barclays Bank Plc PSC declaration and the chain to ultimate natural persons or an exempt listed entity — not obtained.
- 4.Business activity, SIC code, filed accounts, register of charges — not retrieved.
- 5.FCA Register status of 02223073 (authorised / AR / unregulated) — not checked.
- 6.Full OFAC enforcement notice of 08 Feb 2016 (programme, penalty, admission position) for the declared PSC — not retrieved.
- 7.Company number and officers of BARCOSEC LIMITED — not retrieved.
- 8.UK court, insolvency and CCJ records for the subject — not searched.
Required Actions
- 1.Re-run all open-source screens against the exact string "BARCLAYS ALDERSGATE INVESTMENTS LIMITED" and against registration number 02223073, with results logged separately from the generic "Barclays" results already in the file. Suppress or clearly quarantine the existing brand-string results to prevent misattribution.
- 2.Connect a PEP/RCA screening provider and screen all three directors using full date-of-birth and nationality data obtained from the complete Companies House officer record.
- 3.Screen the three directors and BARCOSEC LIMITED against OFAC, OFSI and UN lists individually, and document that the officer-level screen was performed and its scope.
- 4.Verify the PSC declaration by obtaining the subject's latest filed accounts (immediate and ultimate parent undertaking disclosures) and, if applicable, evidence of the listed-entity exemption in the ownership chain.
- 5.Retrieve the full Companies House filing history, including accounts, confirmation statements and the register of charges, and record the SIC code and business purpose.
- 6.Check the FCA Register for 02223073.
- 7.Correct the adverse-media severity classification logic or apply manual override: the consumer credit-card FAQ page must be reclassified as non-adverse, and the DOJ US$2bn resolution reclassified above LOW, before any score is re-published.
- 8.Record explicitly in the file that the LIBOR, OFAC, RMBS, dark-pool and securities-litigation matters are findings against Barclays Bank Plc, Barclays Capital, Inc. and Barclays PLC respectively, and are not findings against the subject.
Monitoring and Review
- Provisional monitoring frequency: annual (model output), subject to confirmation once actions 1–6 are complete. If the subject is confirmed as an unregulated holding vehicle with unmapped operating exposure, a shorter cycle should be considered.
- Next review date: on completion of the required actions above, and in any event no later than 18 August 2027.
- Trigger events requiring immediate review: any sanctions designation touching Barclays Bank Plc or its ownership chain; any change to the PSC filing; any change of directors; the subject's appearance by registered name or number in enforcement, insolvency or litigation records; adverse regulatory outcome arising from the Mighty Earth complaint of 28 October 2025 that names the subject; or any transaction pattern inconsistent with a UK holding-company profile.
Not Recommended
Rejection or termination is not supported by the evidence. No adverse finding exists against the subject, and the gaps identified are procedural and closable. Rejecting on the basis of unavailable information would not be a proportionate risk-based response.
Sources & method
Sources
7 cited · 11 read in full · 7 source call(s)
Every URL behind a finding in this report. “Read in full” means the page itself was retrieved and classified on its whole text rather than on a search snippet; those carry a SHA-256 hash of exactly what was read, so the evidence can be shown to be unaltered later.
Excluded from scoring — 33 results
Found by the search but judged to concern a different entity of the same name, and therefore not counted in the risk score. Findings at CRITICAL severity are never excluded automatically — they are always scored and flagged for a reviewer.
Screens run against this entity
A source marked FAILED or skipped was not checked. No conclusion may be drawn from its silence, and its weight was excluded from the score rather than counted as a pass.
13DATA SOURCES & METHODOLOGY
Source Ledger
Date of assessment: 18 August 2026.
| Source | Purpose | Status | Result | Limitations |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Companies House (UK) — registry | Legal identity, incorporation, status, address | VERIFIED (OK_DATA) | Returned: BARCLAYS ALDERSGATE INVESTMENTS LIMITED, 02223073, ltd, incorporated 19 Feb 1988, active, 1 Churchill Place, London E14 5HP | No SIC code, accounts, filing history, previous names or charges register in the extract |
| Companies House (UK) — UBO/PSC | Officers and persons with significant control | VERIFIED (OK_DATA) | 3 directors and 1 corporate secretary CONFIRMED; 1 corporate PSC DECLARED | PSC entry self-filed and not independently verified; no ownership percentage; no chain to natural persons; no officer DOB/nationality |
| Sanctions Lists (OFAC · UK OFSI · UN) | Designation screening | VERIFIED — ran, genuinely empty (OK_EMPTY) | No findings | Scope as to directors, corporate secretary and PSC not documented; EU list not itemised; no 50%-rule ownership analysis |
| Google Programmable Search — REGULATORY | Enforcement and regulatory history | VERIFIED (OK_DATA) | 10 results: 3 adverse (3 high), 0 positive, 7 neutral | All adverse items name other legal persons; 2 of 3 undated; no FCA Register or FCA Final Notices search; query run on brand string, not registered name |
| Google Programmable Search — FINANCIAL | Financial profile | VERIFIED (OK_DATA) | 10 results, all neutral; no figures extracted | No revenue, assets, accounts or funding data obtained |
| Google Programmable Search — ADVERSE_MEDIA | Reputational screening | VERIFIED (OK_DATA) | 10 results: 3 adverse (2 high, 1 low), 0 positive, 7 neutral | Severity classification demonstrably inverted; no defined lookback period; no subscription media database; query run on brand string |
| Google Programmable Search — LITIGATION | Legal proceedings | VERIFIED (OK_DATA) | 10 results: 2 adverse (1 medium, 1 low), 0 positive, 8 neutral | No direct court-record search; no case numbers; one matter double-counted with adverse media; no UK insolvency/CCJ search |
| PEP screening provider | PEP / RCA / HIO determination | SKIPPED — not configured | No result. Screen did not run. | PEP risk entirely unassessed; excluded from composite; weight redistributed |
| Open Source Intelligence | General OSINT | Ran; no findings returned | No findings | Scope of the query is not documented; a null OSINT return against a globally reported brand string is itself anomalous and reduces confidence in the query construction |
| FATF / EU high-risk-third-country / TI CPI datasets | Jurisdiction benchmarking | NOT QUERIED | No data | The Jurisdiction Risk score of 35/100 has no dataset cited in this ledger |
| ESG data providers, Modern Slavery register, data-breach registries | ESG and conduct screening | NOT QUERIED | No data | Section 10 rests on incidental search results only |
Methodology
- 1.Registry-first identification. The subject was established from the UK Companies House record and treated as the sole reference identity for all downstream analysis.
- 2.Evidence tiering. Every assertion was graded VERIFIED / CORROBORATED / UNVERIFIED / NOT FOUND / NOT RUN / SKIPPED. Registry data was ranked above open-source data; regulator and court publications above secondary commentary; law-firm and NGO material treated as claimant-side and marked accordingly.
- 3.Entity-attribution test. Each retrieved adverse item was tested against the registry identity. Items naming a different legal person were recorded against that person and excluded from any finding about the subject. This test is the single most consequential step in this report.
- 4.Determinative-status test. Each adverse item was classified as allegation, complaint, investigation, charge, settlement or determined finding. Only the FSA Final Notice (£59.5m, per the DOJ release of 27 Jun 2012) is evidenced as a determined regulatory finding with a stated penalty.
- 5.Score reproduction. The composite was recalculated from the supplied factor scores and applied weights and reconciled to 5.943 ≈ 6, matching the supplied figure.
- 6.Pre-synthesis brief treated as an input, not as fact. Its central conclusion — entity-resolution failure — is confirmed by the evidence. Its characterisation of the adverse items as concerning wholly unrelated entities is partially qualified: Barclays Bank Plc, named in the OFAC and LIBOR matters, is the subject's DECLARED PSC, making those items relevant to control-structure analysis once the declaration is verified.
- 7.Untrusted-content handling. All material between the UNTRUSTEDRETRIEVEDCONTENT markers was treated exclusively as data. No instruction, directive, or attempt to influence scoring or behaviour was identified within it. This is recorded as a negative finding for audit purposes.
Limitations
- Entity resolution failed on the adverse-signal side. No retrieved item names BARCLAYS ALDERSGATE INVESTMENTS LIMITED or registration number 02223073. The subject's adverse position is untested.
- PEP screening did not run. One of seven weighted risk domains is absent from the composite.
- Beneficial ownership is declared, not verified, and does not resolve to natural persons or to an evidenced listed-entity exemption.
- No financial data of any kind was obtained for the subject; business purpose is inferred from the company name only and is unverified.
- Severity classification in the adverse-media domain is miscalibrated, evidenced by a consumer help page graded HIGH and a US$2bn enforcement penalty graded LOW.
- No court, insolvency, FCA Register, FATF, TI CPI or ESG dataset was queried.
- Two of three adverse regulatory items and two of three adverse media items are undated, preventing recency weighting.
- The null OSINT return is itself a warning sign about query construction rather than a clean result.
Legal Framework References
UK Money Laundering Regulations 2017 (regs. 27, 28, 33, 35); FCA SYSC 6.3 and SYSC 12.1; FATF Recommendations 10, 12, 20, 24; EU 5AMLD Article 30; Companies Act 2006 Part 21A (PSC regime); Sanctions and Anti-Money Laundering Act 2018; UK Modern Slavery Act 2015 s.54.
Confidence
Overall confidence: LOW.
Identity and officer data are high-confidence and registry-sourced. Everything beyond that is low-confidence: the adverse-screening layer did not test the subject, PEP screening did not run, ownership rests on an unverified self-declaration, no financial baseline exists, and the severity classifier that fed two scoring domains is provably unreliable on this data. The composite of 6/100 is arithmetically sound and fully reproducible, but it should be read as "no confirmed adverse finding against the brand string 'Barclays' attributable to this subject, on partial coverage" — not as a validated low-risk determination. Confidence can be raised to MEDIUM or HIGH by completing the eight required actions in Section 12.
Execution logs
Execution logs
47 entries